About the San Mateo City Council

As the City's legislative body, the San Mateo City Council represents the entire community and is empowered by the City Charter to formulate Citywide policy. San Mateo has five (5) Council Members. Each serves at large, meaning each is elected by the entire citizenry to represent the whole city, rather than just a particular district or region of the city. Council Members are elected to 4-year terms with a maximum of 3 consecutive terms. The Mayor rotates each December among all council members.
The City of San Mateo operates under a Council/Manager form of government (learn more).