News Flash

Latest News & Announcements

Posted on: October 7, 2021

COVID-19 Face Mask Requirements

Bay Area Health Officers & Masking Requirements

The health officers in nine Bay Area counties announced on Oct. 7, 2021 new criteria for when they will lift requirements for vaccinated people to wear face coverings indoors.

The counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Sonoma and the City of Berkeley will lift the indoor masking requirement in public spaces not subject to state and federal masking rules when all the following occur:

  • The jurisdiction reaches the moderate (yellow) COVID-19 transmission tier, as defined by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), and remains there for at least three weeks; AND
  • COVID-19 hospitalizations in the jurisdiction are low and stable, in the judgment of the health officer; AND
  • 80% of the jurisdiction’s total population is fully vaccinated;
  • Eight weeks have passed since a COVID-19 vaccine has been authorized for emergency use by federal and state authorities for 5- to 11-year-olds.

As of this week, face covering requirements remain in place and state guidance will remain in effect after local masking requirements are lifted, meaning that people who are not fully vaccinated for COVID-19 must continue to wear masks in businesses and indoor public spaces. Learn more at San Mateo County Health’s COVID-19 web page.

Facebook Twitter Email